Kolkata celebrates 26th Annual Kalakar Awards amidst glitz and glamour

The Kalakar Awards is widely recognized as one of the leading award ceremonies in Eastern India. The 26th Kalakar Awards at Science City Auditorium in Kolkata on January 14, 2018. The people of Kolkata, who celebrate cinema, television and entertainment unequivocally, came in large numbers to cheer for the superstars and the star studded occasion was indeed a night to remember.


The 26th Annual Kalakar Awards began with legendary singer Manhar Udhas who was given the prestigious lifetime achievement award for invariable contribution to Indian Music. The veteran singer, who has become synonymous Hindi and Gujarati songs, even sang two songs on request and it was indeed a moment of great fulfillment for all the spectators. Himani Shivpuri, who has been integral to innumerable super hit films right from Hum Aapke Hain Kaun in early 90’s, was awarded ‘Achiever Award’ for outstanding contribution to Indian cinema and TV. The highlight of the day was none other than the arrival of Shreyas Talpade, who received awards for ‘best debut director’ and ‘best film’ for ‘Poster Boys’. No doubt, the Bengali film ‘Baranda’ was an absolute winner in the film section, bagging three awards. Ace actor Bratya Basu and renowned actress Rituparna Sengupta came upon the stage along with Director Reshmi Mitra for the film ‘Baranda’. Star actors Soham Chakraborty and Subhashree Ganguly, were awarded King and Queen of Tollywood for ‘Amar Aponjon’ and ‘Nabab’ respectively.  Bratya Base received the ‘Special Jury Award’ whereas veteran actor Chiranjeet received ‘best actor’ award for ‘Guha Manab’. Irrfan Khan starring ‘Doob- No bed of roses’ received the coveted ‘best film’ award.

The television category witnessed the big names on the stage. The ‘Kundali Bhagya’ team of Zee TV won the ‘best serial’ award whereas Tez received ‘best news channel’ award for updating viewers in the possible way. Mohsin Khan and Shraddha Arya won ‘best actor’ and ‘best actress’ awards for Karthik and Preeta’s roles respectively. With fantastic onscreen comic timing, Mandar Chandwadkar and Falguni Rajani awards for best actors and actresses in comic role. Falguni Rajani got thunderous applause from the audience for her   one-liners. The ‘entertainment’ category was a huge winner. Kolkata’s very own Usha Uthup was bestowed upon ‘Music Icon Award’ for iconic contribution in the world of music. Both Nandini Deb (winner of best rising singer award) and Shreyan Bhattacharya (winner of Jagjit Singh Memorial award for best rising child singer) enthralled the audience with beautiful songs. Jayas Kumar, the kid who rocked as Chote Bhagwan in Sa Re Ga Ma Pa L’il Champs 2017 was given ‘best entertaining star child’ award whereas much acclaimed Bhoomi Trivedi received ‘most entertaining singer’ award for her sensational performances in the world of music. Soujit Das was the proud recipient of ‘best creative choreographer’ award. No doubt, huge footfall at Science City Auditorium was a true testimony to the growing legacy of Kalakar Awards which has been the most awaited annual event in the cultural calendar of Eastern India, attended by a host of dignitaries, stars and celebrities.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *